Screen Producers Awards 2023: the winners

Screen Producers Awards 2023: the winners

Screen Forever wrapped up last night with the winners announced at the annual Screen Producers Australia Awards.

Nath Valvo hosted the ceremony that saw See-Saw Films win the Production Business of the Year and Feature Film Production of the Year awards, while Ambience Entertainment, Fremantle Australia, Mad Ones Films and Ludo Studio each took home two SPA Awards .

The awards were presented by Brenton Thwaites, Chika Ikogwe, Erik Thomson, Mark Coles Smith, Marta Dusseldorp.

SPA Chief Executive Matthew Deaner said: “A lot has happened since the last SPA Awards, including the release of the Government’s new national cultural policy, and it is here tonight that the enthusiasm and passion for authentic storytelling within of the Australian film industry have flashed before the Minister for Cultural Heritage, the Hon MP Tony Burke I want to congratulate all the award nominees and winners and encourage them to continue their outstanding work, dazzling audiences around the world and showcasing the , unique Australian culture and stories”.

TV and related winners:

Animated Production of the Year – Bluey, Studio Ludo
Children’s production of the year – Barrumbi Kids, Ambience Entertainment and Tamarind Tree Pictures
Comedy Program or Serial Production of the Year – Colin of Accounts, Easy Tiger Productions
Documentary Series Production of the Year – Dogs to herd, atmospheric entertainment
• Drama Series Production of the Year – Heartbreak High, Fremantle Australia

Entertainment production by Year – Joint winners:
Gogglebox Australia, Endemol Shine Australia
Great Designs Australia, Fremantle Australia

Feature Film Documentary Production of the Year – Incarceration Nation, Bacon Factory Films and Bent3Land Productions
Online Mass Production of the Year – Latecomers, Mad Ones movies and Lazy Susan movies
Reality Series Production of the Year – The Great Australian Bake Off, BBC Studios Australia
Telemovie or miniseries production of the year – Wild River, Aquarius Films
Production activity of the year – See-Saw movie
Screen Business Export Award – Bluey, Studio Ludo
Breakthrough Activity of the Year – Film on the bus stop

Services and facilities Business of the year – Joint Winners:
Digital Silver Trak for Firebite
Cato Location Services for Limitless

Commissioner of the Year – Julie Eckersley SBS (pictured)

Lifetime Achievement Award – Joint Winners:
On Armstrong, SixtyFourSixty
Brian Rosen, Sixty Four Sixty

Emma Roberts was named a recipient of the $20,000 Ones To Watch Screen Internship grant, supported by Screen Australia, and SPA members Lazy Susan Films and Mad Ones Films received the annual SDIN Award for their production Latecomers.