Screen Producers Australia: Ones to Watch 2023

Screen Producers Australia: Ones to Watch 2023

Screen Producers Australia has announced its Ones To Watch for 2023, twelve emerging producers to be mentored by established industry professionals.

“We’re thrilled to welcome the 11th iteration of the Ones To Watch program in 2023. The program has built a reputation as a platform for early-career producers to bolster their careers, opening doors to new industry connections and as a way for them to fine-tune their existing skill sets,” said SPA CEO Matthew Deaner.

“Again, this year, we have been overwhelmed with the calibre of applications from the next generation of Australian storytellers. We are confident that this year’s cohort, similar to past participants, will embrace opportunities for personal and professional growth offered throughout the program, solidifying their careers into the future.

“We would like to take this opportunity to thank our program partners for their continued support, and to wish the Ones To Watch luck as they begin the six-month program and look forward to meeting in-person at Screen Forever 38 in March 2024.”

This year’s cohort is comprised of talented producers from across Australia, already creating Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander stories through live-action and animation, fast-paced social media series’, gritty crime drama, horror fantasy, offbeat romantic comedies, and culturally explorative documentaries.

Ones To Watch is SPA’s much-loved professional development and mentoring program for early-career screen producers looking to accelerate their careers in Australia’s bold and unique screen sector.

Over the coming months, the Ones To Watch will be matched with leading Australian producers for 1-on-1 mentoring and will take part in an exclusive webinar series to develop their creative slate and business skills in the lead-up to Screen Forever 38. Each participant will also be given the opportunity to apply for the Ones To Watch Screen Internship, supported by Screen Australia, to secure placement with a production company anywhere in the world to the value of AU$20,000.

The twelve producers selected for this year’s program are:

Alexandra Doering – Infamous Pictures (NSW)
Amy Parry – Anaphora Productions (QLD)
Gillian Crosby – GGG Films (VIC)
Jodie Kirkbride – Get Back Jojo (SA)
Lisa Albert – Fringe Dweller Films (VIC)
Michael Hudson – Third Impact Films (VIC)
Monique Mulcahy – Strange Mage (VIC)
Nara Wilson – BiRiny (SA)
Stephanie Cole – Not a Phase (WA)
Tessa Mansfield-Hung – Freelance (VIC)
Tobias Willis – KEWL Studios (VIC)
Vee Shi – Niu Studios (VIC)