SA Media Awards 2023: nominees

SA Media Awards 2023: nominees

The nominees were announced at the South Australian Media Awards.

Winners will be announced on Saturday 8 July at Gallery Adelaide.

TV and related names:


Rory McClaren – ABC News – “Holden: Five Years Later”
Amelia Moseley – ABC News/Behind The News (BTN) – “Journey from Ukraine”
Isabel Dayman – ABC News – “SA Ramping Crisis”

News reporting
Hannah Foord – Channel Seven – “Shooting Horror”
Ethan Rix and Steve Opie – ABC News – “River Murray Flood Emergency”
Josh Webster – Network 10 – “Murray River Flood Emergency”


Lincoln Rothall – ABC – “War in Ukraine”
Ben Kelly – Solstice Media – “Body of Work”
Sarah Reed – SALife Magazine – “Take a Dip”


Shari Hams – ABC News – “Meth in the Pizza Box Campaign”
Nicholas Maher – ABC’s Behind the News (BTN) – “Woman, Life, Freedom: Iran Explained (series)”


Best rural/regional journalist
Daniel Clarke – Freelance Journalist – “The Legacy of the Islanders We Have Lost”
Peri Strathearn – Murray Bridge News – “Body of Labor”
Shari Hams – ABC News – ‘Riverland flood crisis’

Comment, analysis, opinion and criticism
Jane Howard – ABC News – “Rising Festival Review: New Melbourne festival had world-class arts, but it was the small moments that made the biggest impact”
Rory McClaren – ABC News – “Body of Labor”

Social Equity Report
Gladys Serugga – ABC – “Migration, belonging and other chapters of an African-Australian experience”
Michael McGuire – The Advertiser – “Ice Epidemic”
Shari Hams – ABC – “South Australia decriminalized abortion over a year ago, but nothing has changed”

Sports report
Ethan Rix – ABC – “Adaptive Surfing Paralympics Push”
Liz Walsh – The Advertiser – “Women’s Soccer”
Andrew Capel – The Advertiser – “The trials and tribulations of football”