New ABC Board appointments

New ABC Board appointments

The federal government has appointed two new non-executive Directors to the ABC Board for five-year terms: Ms Nicolette Maury and Ms Louise McElvogue.

Ms Maury is the CEO of Avani Solutions. She has a background in business across real estate, banking and ecommerce, having spent more than 15 years working in digital organisations in Australia and overseas. Her previous roles have included Head of Europe Product Transformation Office for Grupo Santander, CEO at Asto Digital Ltd, Vice President and Managing Director of Intuit Australia, and various roles with eBay Australia. In 2013 she won the Australian Financial Review BOSS Young Executive of the Year Award.

Ms McElvogue has an extensive background in journalism, communications, marketing and board governance in Australia and internationally. She also has significant business experience leading digital projects for brands like McDonald’s and building the UK’s first video streaming services for the BBC and Channel 4. She is concluding a year serving as interim CEO of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and is an Adjunct Professor in the Business School at the University of Technology Sydney. She currently serves as a non-executive Director of online education provider, Cluey Ltd, and President of the Australian Institute of Company Directors NSW Council.

Both were nominated for appointment by the independent Nomination Panel as part of the merit-based appointment process for the ABC and SBS Boards.

Minister for Communications Michelle Rowland said, “I congratulate Ms Maury and Ms McElvogue on their appointments to the ABC Board and wish them well in their roles.

“The ABC, like many media organisations, faces significant challenges in today’s media environment, grappling with evolving audience trends, audiences who are increasingly consuming media digitally, and new technologies changing how their work is conducted.

“The appointment of these two highly accomplished women to the Board will bolster the public broadcaster’s digital transformation, media and governance acumen as the ABC implements its Five Year Plan.”

The Government also acknowledges the contributions of Mrs Fiona Balfour AM and Mr Joseph Gersh AM who previously served in these roles.

A selection process to fill the upcoming vacancy for the role of Chairperson of the ABC Board is currently underway, conducted by an independent Nomination Panel and an external executive search agency.