Brian Taylor honoured at AFL Media Awards

Brian Taylor honoured at AFL Media Awards

The Seven Network’s chief AFL caller, Brian Taylor has been honoured with a life membership award at the 2023 Australian Football Media Association (AFMA) Awards.

A previous dual winner of the Lou Richards Medal and Most Outstanding Caller award, Taylor joined Seven in 2012.

“I think 44 years I have been involved in football, 33 of those in the media, I have just been given so many opportunities by so many different people,” he said.

“I had the opportunity to work alongside callers like Bruce McAvaney, it was just amazing to work with someone of that ilk. Bruce was always standing behind you… he was a coach to us all.

“To be involved in this industry, it has been my absolute life and I owe everything to the people who have supported me along the way. There are too many to mention by name, but to all those people, I am indebted to you, and it is because of you that I get to do what I love.”

For the second consecutive year, The Front Bar, hosted by Mick Molloy, Sam Pang and Andy Maher, was named the Best TV Program.

Head of Network Sport, Lewis Martin, said: “On behalf of everyone at Seven, I am rapt to congratulate BT and our team at The Front Bar for their richly deserved recognition at this year’s AFMAs.”

FOX Footy’s Jason Dunstall was presented with the Lou Richards Medal.

David King was named the Best Opinion Analysis (Radio/TV) award while Anthony Hudson was again named Best TV Match Caller.

This post updates.