Australian Cinematographer Awards 2023: winners

Australian Cinematographer Awards 2023: winners

The Australian Cinematographers Society recently held its National Awards at Sydney’s Luna Park, hosted by Ray Martin.

Mandy Walker AM ACS ASC was awarded Australian Cinematographer of the Year with the Milli Award.

Walker also won a Golden Tripod in the Feature Film – Budget $2 Million and Up category for the film Elvis.

The capping of an incredible 12 months for Walker, who also recently won the gong for Best Cinematography at the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards and the American Society of Cinematographers Feature Film Award for Elvis.

Walker said: “It is an honor and a privilege to have won the Milli and to have worked on it Elvis with so many Australian filmmakers who are undeniably at the top of their game. As a team we have created an incredibly special piece of cinema. Australian filmmakers continue to create some of the best work in the world and so once again I am truly honored to win this award. Thanks also to the ACS and to all its sponsors, because without you we wouldn’t be here”.

ACS National President Erika Addis said: “I would like to wholeheartedly congratulate Mandy on winning the Milli and also all the other award winners for their amazing and inspiring work. It has been a remarkable year for Australian filmmakers with other recent successes including Jules O’Loughlin ACS ASC who recently won ASC’s Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography in Episode of a One-Hour Commercial Television Series and Greig Fraser ACS ASC who was nominated for ASC’s Best Cinematography Award for his work on The Batman. I would also like to thank Simon Murphy and all of FujiFilm Fujinon, our main national sponsor, for their incredible and unparalleled support of our company.”

TV and related categories:

John Bowring’s ACS Station Interruptions and Promotions
Golden Tripod :: SBS Tony Luu ACS QLD ‘We All’ campaign
Distinction: ABC 90 Years Brand Tony Luu ACS QLD

Syd Wood ACS Local/National News
Distinction: Cattle Queen – ABC News Stephen Cavanagh ACS NT

Neil Davis International News
Golden Tripod :: War in Ukraine – Retreat by Iprin James Cannon ACS QLD
Distinction: War in Ukraine – Hostomel James Cannon ACS QLD

Gold Tripod :: Pacific Capture Mathew Marsic NSW
Recognition: Mitchell Woolnough NT Apprentice of the Year

Entertainment and TV magazine
Gold Tripod :: Andrea Lam – Live at Sydney Opera House Dave May NSW
Distinction: Quiet without the sun Casimir Dickson ACS NSW

Golden Tripod :: Mitchell Woolnough NT dead on arrival
Distinction: David Attenborough’s – Wonder of Song Nick Hayward TAS

Ron Taylor AM ACS and Valerie Taylor AM Wildlife and Nature
Golden Tripod:: The Matching Game – Violinists – S1E2 Ben Cunningham ACS VIC
Distinction: Black Empire Johanis Lyons-Reid SA

TV serial and comedy series
No prizes awarded

Drama series
Golden Tripod :: The Old Man S1E4 Jules O’Loughlin ACS ASC NSW
Distinction: Mystery Road: Origin S3E5 Tyson Perkins NSW

David Gribble ACS Hall of Fame Award