Australia Day Honours 2024

Australia Day Honours 2024

Sandra Sully, David Koch and John Foreman are amongst those today recognised in the Australia Day Honours.

All three receive a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the General Division.

Sandra Sully said, “I am very humbled and honoured to receive this recognition which stems from working in an industry I love. It is a privilege to be a journalist and work in a profession which I believe in and its ability to shine the light on inequality and how to bring about change. My role has given me many amazing opportunities and I am so grateful to be able to give back to the community in areas I am passionate about. I have always strived to honour my profession and raise the bar with the issues I believe need to be highlighted and where I can make a difference. I would like to thank all the many people who have supported and guided me along the way. Especially my dedicated and hardworking colleagues, my loving family, supportive friends and mentors.”

David Koch said, “I’m very honoured and humbled to be part of the Australia Day Honours. I have no idea who nominated me and was shocked to be notified. It is also a wonderful reflection of the community groups I’m involved with and the enormous contributions made by them to this country.”

John Foreman said, “I’m absolutely thrilled to receive this award. I love Australia, I feel so lucky to live in this country and I’m very grateful for this recognition. It’s all rather unexpected and very humbling.”

Also recognised are the late Father Bob Maguire, plus cinematographer David Parer and entertainment journalist Craig Bennett.

Here are the TV and related names:

Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the General Division

Ms Heather Ann Croall, SA
For significant service to the performing arts, as an administrator, advocate and film maker.

Mr David James Koch
For significant service to media as a television presenter, and to economic journalism.

Mr Max Lambert, Newtown NSW 2042
For significant service to music, and to the performing arts.

Ms Sandra Lee Sully
For significant service to the media, to charitable organisations, and to the community.

Mr John Gregory Foreman OAM, VIC
For significant service to the performing arts, particularly music, and to the community.

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in the General Division

Ms Margaret Fink, NSW
For distinguished service to the arts as a film and television producer, and as a supporter of the visual arts community.

The late Reverend Robert John Maguire AM RFD
For distinguished service to the community, particularly through social welfare initiatives and organisations.

Mr David Damien Parer, VIC
For distinguished service to wildlife cinematography, to literature as an author, and to the environment.

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in the General Division

Mrs Majida Abboud-Saab, NSW
For service to the Arab community, and to the media.

Ms Jennifer Woodward, QLD
For service to the broadcast media, particularly to television.

Mr Daryl Bruce Binning, Bull Creek WA 6149
For service to the film industry.

Mr Craig Bennett, Surfers Paradise QLD 4217
For service to broadcast media as an entertainment journalist.

Ms Linda Irene Duncombe
For service to the financial sector.

Ms Belinda Maree Adams, QLD
For service to community health.

Mr Victor Alhadeff, NSW
For service to the Jewish community, and to the media.

Mr Daniel Michael Oakes, VIC
For service to journalism.